Karencita de Perú

Canada Day in Peru!

Posted on: July 2, 2010

So, you may be wondering how a Canadian girl celebrated Canada Day in Peru.  I can’t say that it was quite the same as in Canada – no fireworks, no BBQs, no concerts – but I tried to do something a little special in recognition of our national holiday.

First, I went to the beauty salon.  I have been here over 2 months and this is the first time I got my hair cut.  I was a little apprehensive about going to the hairdresser as I wasn’t sure if I would be able to understand what they were saying to me or communicate what I wanted.  In reality, it was a bit challenging, but I survived and still have hair on my head that is a normal color.

The salons here are quite similar to those in Canada.  The service is very good.  They offered me a beverage and served me little cookies.  I decided to also get my nails done as we are going to a wedding tonight.  The manicure was nice and relaxing.

The salon I went to, called B&M Estilistas, is quite expensive for Peru, but relatively inexpensive compared to Canada.  What probably would have cost me close to $200 in Canada cost me 200 soles here.  Here is the breakdown of the costs and the equivalent in Canadian dollars:

  • Color – 100 soles = $40
  • Cut – 50 soles – $20
  • Hair Ampoule – 25 soles = $10
  • Manicure – 25 soles = $10

So, in total it cost me about $80 Canadian which is a pretty good price for a cut, color and manicure.  By the way, if you are wondering what a “Hair Ampoule” is it is a treatment that improves cellular metabolism of hair through the reaction of its vegetable oil and liposomes, which immediately treats and reinvigorates damaged hair; leaving hair soft and shiny.  It is called an ampolla in Spanish and this was one of the areas I had difficulty understanding as I didn’t know this work in Spanish.  Actually, I didn’t know the word “ampoule” in English until I looked up the translation of ampolla!

After the haircut I went shopping.  There is a high-end clothing store called Bugui at the end of our block.  It is normally very expensive but they were having a Cierra PuertasCierra Puertas literally means “Close Doors” and it is the name they use for a big liquidation event were everything is on sale.  Everything in the store was 50% off or more.  I bought a pair of jeans and a top for 124 soles (about $50 CAD).

Finally, I finished off my Canada Day celebration by going for dinner at T.G.I. Friday’s.  Luis and I shared an appy platter that included nachos (one of my favorite foods!), quesadillas and chicken fingers.   It was delicious, although the nachos weren’t exactly like they are in Canada.  Luis enjoyed it as well, more than the Tony Roma’s experience.  Eating here reminded my of some of the foods I am missing and craving.  I am already making a list of all the things I want to eat while I am in Canada.  I can’t wait!!

Leave a Reply

Keeping my friends, family and co-workers up to date on my life and adventures in Perú!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Archives

Miraflores in Lima Perú

