Karencita de Perú

Sick in Peru – Enferma en Perú

Posted on: June 12, 2010

This is just going to be a short post as I am not feeling very well.  I think I ate something bad. Yesterday morning I started having bad stomach cramps and the other unpleasant things that come along with that.  I spent most of the day in bed which wasn’t very fun.

Luis is looking after me.  Last night he made me chicken soup from scratch.  It was very tasty and much better than what comes from a can.  He also got me some pills from the pharmacy that are supposed to help my stomach.  I took two pills last night and two more this morning.  They don’t seem to have really helped, but they haven’t made me worse either.  I guess I’ll wait and see what happens.

The pharmacy is actually what I want to talk about today.  From what I have experienced it appears as thought you can walk into the pharmacy, tell the pharmacist what is wrong with you and they will give you some medication.  You don’t have to see a doctor to get a prescription.  This is both convenient and a bit frightening.  I don’t really know what qualifications these pharmacists have to be dispensing drugs.  Luis said it is better now as they have put some regulations in place but it still seems a little dangerous.  I guess people just go for minor problems and if there is something seriously wrong they would go to the doctor.

The other things is that prescription medication is much cheaper here.   Maybe because the big American pharmaceutical companies aren’t controlling everything and inflating the prices.  In any event, before I return to Canada I want to see if they have my migraine medication here.  It is $16 per pill in Canada.  If I can get it cheaper here, I won’t bother getting a prescription when I am there.

Well, that’s it for now.  I hope to be feeling better soon and have something more interesting for you all the next time.

1 Response to "Sick in Peru – Enferma en Perú"

Hola Karen,

I am so sorry you are not feeling well … I remember 1 particular time that happened to me while in Peru … it was miserable, but the pills the pharmacy gave me …. at 3 AM no less! …. worked very well and I was feeling better within a couple of hours and back to almost normal by 24. I know what you mean about the pharmacies … seems scary, but to date, what they’ve given me a few times according to a good description of the situation was right on! I love that system. We get most of our meds from Argentina when we go to visit family there … of course my brother-in-law is a Doctor, so we get a good lecture along with them and are told to be sure to call him before we actually take any of it but I’ll tell you, it beats the heck out of the prices here! Get better! Joan

Leave a Reply

Keeping my friends, family and co-workers up to date on my life and adventures in Perú!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Archives

Miraflores in Lima Perú

