Karencita de Perú

Malecón de la Reserva

Posted on: May 21, 2010

Today was a beautiful, sunny day in Lima, so  I decided to take advantage of the weather and go for a walk in the middle of the day.

The area where I enjoyed my stroll is called Malecón de la Reserva.  I don’ think there is a literal translation for that in English.  Malecón in this context means “seafront” (it can also mean jetty or pier).   I think it is called “de la Reserva” in honor of the reservists troops who participated during the war with Chile in the defense of the city of Lima in the battles of San Juan and Miraflores.  There is also a park here called Parque de la Reserva.

The Malecón de la Reserva is the Lima equivalent of the Stanley Park seawall in Vancouver.  It is a pedestrian path with lovely views of the ocean.  This is also an exclusive residential zone with apartments that have a great view of the Pacific Ocean.  From our apartment it is about a 10 to 15 minute walk to arrive at the malecón, depending which part you go to.  I started at the far south end where there is a road that takes you down to the Costa Verde and beaches.

As I made my way toward the ocean, the breathtaking views started to appear.  This is the view to the south where the districts of Barranco and Chorrillos are located.

The path heads north toward Larcomar, a shopping center and entertainment zone.  Even though it is the beginning of winter here, there are still many beautiful flowers around the city.

Parapente or paragliding is a very popular activity above the cliffs in Miraflores.  There are always gliders overhead sailing back and forth with the current of the wind off the ocean.  Maybe someday I will be brave enough to try it!

Along the path is a little park with benches for relaxing to enjoy the tranquil atmosphere and beautiful views.  There was a man training dogs in the park today which was interesting.

Finally, Larcomar comes into view.

This is where I decide to end my walk for today and head home to continue working.  Further to the south of Larcomar is the Malecón Cisneros and El Parque Del Amor which I’ll write about another day.

3 Responses to "Malecón de la Reserva"

Great photos, beautiful views!

It looks like a lovely spot. I am really looking forward to visiting hopefully this year.

It is beautiful! I really hope you are able to visit soon!

Leave a Reply

Keeping my friends, family and co-workers up to date on my life and adventures in Perú!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Archives

Miraflores in Lima Perú

