Karencita de Perú

Welcome Party – Fiesta de Bienvenida

Posted on: April 26, 2010

As I mentioned last time, the last thing you have to do before leaving the airport in Lima is press a button which turns on either a green light or red light.  If it is green, you are good to go.  If it is red, unfortunately, you have to put all your luggage through the x-ray scanner and then they check it by hand.  So, after I finished with that fun process I was finally ready to exit to the area where all the people are waiting to greet their friends and family.

There are usually a lot of people in the waiting area and trying to find the person who you are looking for can be a bit difficult.  Anyway, I finally saw Angel, Luis’s cousin.  In additional to Angel there was Gerson, a friend of Angel’s and the driver of the pick-up they brought to carry all my luggage, and another guy I didn’t recognize (I later found out his name is David).  However, there was no sight of Luis.  After exchanging greetings and getting introduced, my first question was “Dónde está Luis?” (Where is Luis?).  Angel told me there was a problem and that Luis had eaten something bad at lunch and was sick.  Something similar had happened the last time I was here and I immediately became very worried.  The whole ride from the airport to the apartment they were explaining to me what had happened and that he had taken some type of medicine that would hopefully help.  They said I should feed him caldo (this is a kind of chicken broth) and make sure he doesn’t eat anything that might make the situation worse.  By this time I was starting to panic because I don’t know how to make caldo and I wasn’t sure what I was going to feed a sick Peruvian.

We finally arrived at the apartment and had to struggle with getting all my luggage out of the truck and into the elevator and it seemed to be taking a long time.  I wanted to go ahead and see how Luis was, but Angel said I should wait.  We finally arrived at the apartment door.  Angel had the keys and opened the door and when I entered I was greeted by a huge “Surprise!”.  It was all a lie, Luis was fine and it was a surprise welcome party for me.  There was food, drinks,  flowers, and people.  It was such a nice way to be welcomed to the country, albeit at 2am in the morning!

Here is the beautiful bouquet of flowers that I received (the person in the background is Renzo, Angel’s roommate).

Unfortunately, I don’t have very many good pictures of the party.  There are better ones but they are on Luis’s camera which his sister currently has.  In the picture below is Luis, his sister Kelly and another friend named Susan.

We stayed up until about 5am.  I had purchased Crown Royal in the duty-free which I shared so everyone could try Canadian whiskey.  It isn’t really my favorite thing, but I think everyone enjoyed it as it was something different.  You can’t find any Canadian whiskey here.

Needless to say, I was very tired once everything was over, but it was a lot of fun and I met some nice people.

Next time I’ll talk about the wedding we went to on Saturday night, which turned out to be another very late night!

Leave a Reply

Keeping my friends, family and co-workers up to date on my life and adventures in Perú!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Archives

Miraflores in Lima Perú

