Karencita de Perú

The Trip – El Viaje

Posted on: April 24, 2010

I made it to Peru safe and sound!  The trip was very long, but overall pretty good.  However, there were some minor “issues” at the Vancouver airport the morning I left.

As many of you know, I had been struggling with how to bring all my stuff with me.  I had contemplated sending some boxes by cargo ship, but with the possible hassle at the port in Lima and the customs duties I would have had to pay (20% on my own stuff!!)  I decided not to do it.  So, I was left with having to bring everything with me on the plane.  Air Canada allows two bags for free.  I decided to take three and pay the excess baggage fee of $200.  Well, it turns out that 2 or my 3 suitcases were WAY over weight and one of my carry on bags was also overweight (who knew there was a weight limit on carry on luggage!).  Anyway, this nice man at the Air Canada check-in counter helped me find a solution to be able to bring everything with me.  I had to take a bunch of stuff out of my suitcases and put it in a box which then became my 4th bag and for which I had to pay an additional $100 (not sure why he only charged me $100, I think he felt sorry for me).  You should have seen me struggling with all my luggage (3 large suitcase, a big box, a small carry-on suitcase and a laptop bag) when I arrived in Lima.   People were looking at my like I was nuts.  And of course, as normally happens to me, upon leaving the airport where you hand in your customs declaration card and have to push the button, I got the red button AGAIN.  This means that you have to put all your luggage through then X-ray scanner and then they search it by hand.  I had to unload all the luggage that I had just finished struggling to get on the cart and then re-load it all over again.  Not fun!  However, on the bright side, all my luggage arrived here, and for that I am very grateful!

The other unfortunate thing that happened was regarding visas.  My first experience in the world of visa problems.  I imagine this is only the beginning!  I had purchased a ticket with a return date of September 30th, which is approximately 5 months from the date I left.  When I got to the Vancouver airport, the same nice man who eventually helped me with my luggage, told me that I couldn’t leave with that return date as you can only travel to Peru for 90 days without a visa.  I knew that they normally allow you to stay for 90 days, but I also knew that upon arrival in Lima when you go through immigration you can request a visa extension up to 183 days.  However, Air Canada said that because I didn’t have the visa extension in advance they couldn’t be guaranteed it would be granted and that I had to change my ticket or they would be fined.  So, after a trip to the ticketing counter and payment of the $150 change fee, I now have a return date of July 15th.  As I expected, upon entering Peru, I requested the visa extension for 183 and they gave it to me.  Now I can pay another $150 to change my ticket back to Sept 30th or come back sooner on  July 15th.  I am not sure what I will do yet.

Next time, I will write about what happened upon my arrival here is Peru.  It was fantastic!

Stay tuned…

2 Responses to "The Trip – El Viaje"

Ahhh Karen. Life is an adventure. Enjoy yours. You can only go around this lifetime once. Stay safe.
Ellie

Hey,

Bienvenida al País de las maravillas (aquí todo puede suceder 😛 )

I hope you’re fine, so all you need is spent time with Luis, and sometimes with friends like me. We have so much more to tell.

Un fuerte abrazo,

PPA.

Leave a Reply

Keeping my friends, family and co-workers up to date on my life and adventures in Perú!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Archives

Miraflores in Lima Perú

